Welcome to the Orlando Section of the American Chemical Society

  • 2023 Summer Social Invitation
    The Orlando Section of the American Chemical Society is pleased to honor our 50-, 60-, and 70-year ACS members and present the Salutes to Excellence award to our partner, the Orlando Science Center. Additionally, Patrick Walsh and Chris Spence from Covanta will give a short talk on a Sustainable Systems Solution for Solid Waste. Saturday […]
  • 2023 CCEW Illustrated Poem Contest: The Results
    Among many other activities for the 2023 Chemists Celebrate Earth Week (CCEW), the Orlando Section of the American Chemical Society (ACS) hosted the 2023 CCEW Illustrated Poem Contest for K-12 students in Central Florida. This year, the theme of the contest is “The Curious Chemistry of Amazing Algae”. Thanks to members of counties’ school boards […]
  • Orlando Students Present at Spring ACS National Meeting
    Travel awards from the Orlando Section of the ACS assisted two Ph.D. candidates at University of Central Florida to attend the spring 2023 ACS Meeting held in Indianapolis from March 26-30. Lorianne Shultz and Jacob T Bryant received $500 each. Lorianne Shultz gave an oral presentation on her research in Professor Titel Jurca’s laboratory on […]
  • Councilor’s Report: 265th National Meeting, Spring 2023
    The Spring Meeting of the ACS Council was held in hybrid format on March 29, 2023.  As of March 29, there were 12,623 registrations (10,792 in-person and 1,831 virtual). Actions of the Council Candidates for President-Elect, 2024 Other Council Actions Highlights from Committee Reports and Key Actions Council Special Discussion President Giordan introduced and led […]
  • First bulletin of the year
    Hello Orlando Section! In the first bulletin of the year, we would like to bring to your attention a few pieces of important information: Chair: Nicole LapeyrouseChair elect: Stephen SmithIntermediate Past Chair: Denisia Popolan-VaidaCouncilor: Darlene SlatteryAlternate Councilor: Laura SessionsTreasurer: Van QuachSecretary: Pavithra Pathirathna Best wishes, Dr. Nicole LapeyrouseChair of the Orlando Section of the ACSOn behalf of […]
  • 2023 CCEW – Celebrating Chemistry
    Celebrating Chemistry is designed to engage and educate children ages 9–12 (Grades 4–6) in the basic principles of chemistry. The publication is available in English and Spanish. Download the issue in English (PDF)Descargar en Español (PDF)
  • 2023 CCEW Illustrated Poem Contest: The Curious Chemistry of Amazing Algae
    The Orlando Section of the American Chemical Society (ACS) is hosting an illustrated poem contest for students in Kindergarten through 12th grade. Entries must be sponsored by a local school or community group for verification purposes. Contest_Deadline: Sunday, April 30, 2023 at 11:59 PM Eastern Local Prizes: One winner will be awarded ($50) for each […]
  • 2023 Student Travel Awards
    To encourage participation of students in local, regional, and national conferences organized by the American Chemical Society and its affiliates and to create opportunities for students to enhance their scientific experiences and networking, the Orlando Section of the American Chemical Society offers travel awards to students who are in need of financial supplement for their […]
  • Younger Chemist Committee (YCC): Exploring Entrepreneurship in STEM
    The Younger Chemists Committee of Central Florida is proud to host “Exploring Entrepreneurship in STEM” (virtual/in person event) on February 16th at 6:30 pm, with speaker Dr. Jim Brenner from the Florida Institute of Technology. Dr. Brenner will be sharing valuable insights gained from his many years of experience as an entrepreneur in the nanotechnology industry. […]
  • 2023 Orlando Section Officers
    EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OFFICER TELEPHONE Chair: Nicole Lapeyrouse 407-823-0386 Chair Elect:         Stephen Smith — Immediate Past Chair: Denisia Popolan-Vaida 407-823-1537 Treasurer: Van Quach — Secretary: Pavithra Pathirathna 321-674-7561 Councilor & Section Historian: Darlene Slattery 321-632-2535 Alternate Council Member: Laura Sessions 407-582-7138 CCEW Coordinator Duy Le 407-666-8198 NCW Coordinator Denisia Popolan-Vaida 407-823-1537 Younger Chemists […]